Alex Toth on inking

Alex Toth on inking

Anyone interested in comics should pay attention to what Alex Toth said and did. I grew up being wowed by busy line work/hatching a la Neal Adams and his followers. And like Toth here writes, I admired the feathered inking that characterizes a lot of old-school comic art. But strangely as I began to draw more and more I found myself unconsciously employing some of his signature minimalism. “Think more, draw less,” as Toth put it, is a worthwhile maxim.

Leave a Reply

