A New Story: War Is Kind, Page 1

War-Is-Kind-Page-1-Fix

After my last allegorical story I’m back to the same territory I visited with The Underground Men–an exploration of the symbiotic relationship between war and masculinity.  I’m calling this story “War Is Kind” from the Stephen Crane poem.  I see most of my stories as investigations.  Political crimes have been committed and we allow them to happen–from Iraq to Afghanistan, Gaza to the Ukraine.  What is it that convinces people to fight and kill total strangers?  How do you learn to obey without question?  This story begins to answer that question for me in my particular moment of history.

Leave a Reply

