War Is Kind P. 3

War-Is-Kind-3.0

Finally a page that feels like what I always wanted to do: a kind of documentary in comics.  Sometimes I use the original images themselves, culled from long out of print magazines from the Fifties.  Other times I draw the images with my own hand. These quotations/citations of other artists don’t just help illustrate my theoretical points but also help me explore the ways in which their style/sentiments still influence my artistic vision.  If you’ve been reading long enough you should be able to recognize my style.  That being said, I feel my own style evolving here.  Maybe it has something to do with my decision to dump the linear panel borders and draw them myself.  Maybe it’s the thought I put into composing the page itself.  It’s an eclectic page with some panels I inked digitally and others with pen and brush (can you tell which is which?).  But certainly a lot of it is conversing through drawing with great artists like Joe Kubert and Harvey Kurtzman.

Leave a Reply

